DUI Laws in Washington State

DUI Laws in Washington State

DUI Laws in Washington State

Effective January, 2011, Washington amended its DUI laws to require mandatory reporting if a child under the age of 13 is in a vehicle driven by an intoxicated parent, legal custodian or guardian. If the arresting officer believes the child will be in any immediate danger, the officer is allowed to take the child into emergency custody. Additionally, Washington has extended restricted driving privileges with an ignition interlock license to those convicted for a drug-related DUI offense.

The basic DUI Laws in Washington State

Washington State prohibits the operation of a motor vehicle by a driver that has a .08 percent or higher blood alcohol concentration (BAC). The .08 percent limit is the standard used across the United States for the “impaired” driver. Washington State has lower BAC limits for commercial drivers (.04) and drivers under the age of 21 (.02). The Washington State DUI laws also prohibit the operation of a motor vehicle by a driver that is under the influence of a controlled substance such as marijuana, cocaine, inhalants and other intoxicants.

Your first DUI in Washington State

The first time you are arrested for drunk driving in the Washington State you could serve a minimum of 24 hours in jail or up to 1 year. The court may allow a minimum 15 day home electronic monitoring program in lieu of jail time paid for at the convicted driver’s expense. You will also be fined no less than $865.50 or up to $5,000. Your driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 90 days and you may receive a restricted license after 30 days if the court allows. You will be ordered to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle at your own expense. An ignition interlock device requires for you to blow into a breathalyzer before the car will start.

Your second DUI in Washington State

The second time you are arrested for a DUI in Washington State you will serve a minimum of 30 days or up to 1 year in jail and 60 days of electronic home monitoring. You will also be fined a minimum of $1,120.50 or up to $5,000. You will be ordered to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle at your own expense.

Your third DUI in Washington State

The 3rd time you are convicted of drunk driving in the Washington State you could spend a minimum of 90 days in jail and 150 days of electronic home monitoring at the convicted drivers expense. You will also be fined a minimum of $1970.50 or up to $5,000 and your driver’s license will be suspended for 3 years. You will be ordered to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle at your own expense.

The DUI laws in Washington State are in place to keep you and everyone on the road around you safe. And in all reality the DUI laws in Washington State are fairly lenient in comparison to the DUI laws in the United States. With Washington State’s new use of the ignition interlock systems it makes it much easier for people to continue driving while also being safe and protected after their DUI charges.

 

http://dui.drivinglaws.org/washington.php

Related Posts

Suboxone Detox in Washington State

2013-09-18 16:32:42
rehabmedia

18

Outpatient Rehab Washington State

2013-09-11 19:38:19
rehabmedia

18

Outpatient rehab in Washington State

2013-08-14 18:43:15
rehabmedia

18

Detox Centers in Washington State

2013-07-03 18:23:13
rehabmedia

18

Alternative drug treatment Washington

2013-06-26 17:49:06
rehabmedia

18

How to find treatment centers Washington

2013-06-25 20:18:10
rehabmedia

18

Heroin Drug Abuse Increases in Washington State

2013-06-18 20:37:47
rehabmedia

18

Inpatient Rehab Washington State

2013-06-05 17:50:17
rehabmedia

18

Leave a Reply